EVs with transmissions

I ha da question about hor EVs are designed. I’m not an engineer and I’m not a huge guy on mechanics so I dont know the specifics of the drive train of an ICE. My question is, all ICE scooters have a transmission and all of them are CVTs, I’m assuming that is to attain the best mileage as well as good power from a small 80-150cc engines. I understand that there are transmission losses but clearly the transmission is doing more good than loss by being there on these scooters. The reason for a transmissiom on an ICE is because you cant directly run the wheel from the piston. In case of EVs we can, electric motors don’t stall plus electric motors can reach higher revs directly and so there’s just no need for a transmission, ather has a basic belt drive but no actualy variation in ratios on the run. But wouldnt slapping on a CVT with an electric motor in place of a piston chamber allow us to achieve better efficiency at higher speeds. If I’m not wrong there are electric bikes and cars with gears out there. And even a rickshaw with a special gear for high torque situations.

Is it because the losses in case of EVs with a transmission would just be too high? Would the CVT do less good than bad ? Also I remember reading that the Bajaj Chetak EV has a CVT, is this true? Because I found no offical word about it. But there seems to be good amount of space to fit in a CVT and a motor on the chetak’s swing arm. So extending my question. Bounce recently announced that they’re going to converting activas and Zests to EVs and they’ve done it with th Zest for the cost of 25-30k. In this case would be more logical to replace the engine with a motor and retain the CVT and drive train as it is and deal with the extra weight and loss? Because this would allow a less powerful motor to operate and give us good speeds. Or is it better to just chuck the whol engine and transmission out and install a hub motor/direct drive.

2 Likes